A. Read and understand these Policies and Procedures and assess your ability and willingness to attend

  1. Read this entire document and be willing to comply with the directives and follow usher instructions;
  2. Be aware that CDC warns that older adults and people of any age who have serious underlying medical conditionsmight be at higher risk for severe illness from COVID-19. Specifically, those at high-risk for severe illness from COVID-19 are:
  • People with chronic lung disease or moderate to severe asthma
  • People who have serious heart conditions
  • People who are immunocompromised
    • Many conditions can cause a person to be immunocompromised, including cancer treatment, smoking, bone marrow or organ transplantation, immune deficiencies, poorly controlled HIV or AIDS, and prolonged use of corticosteroids and other immune weakening medications
  • People with severe obesity (body mass index [BMI] of 40 or higher)
  • People with diabetes
  • People with chronic kidney disease undergoing dialysis
  • People with liver disease

For more information see: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-at-higher-risk.html

  1. The State of Illinois and our Metropolis strongly recommend that those in any of the above categories DO NOT attend church services;
  2. If you are experiencing fever, cough, chills, shortness of breath, sore throat, runny nose, loss of sense of taste or smell, or otherwise feel sick, please stay home;
    • Livestream services will still be available;
    • Personal circumstances may permit a scheduled visit to your home by Fr. Rick;
  3. A face mask or similar face covering must be worn at all times covering your mouth and nose, including by children over 2 years of age;
  4. Children must stay in the pews with a Parent at all times, except when receiving communion;
  5. All those attending will have their temperature taken upon entry;
  6. Per Metropolis directives, the Parish will track your attendance and seating location;
  7. All household members planning to attend will need to sign up in advance and receive an invitation.


B. Sign-up according to the following process:

  1. There will be separate attendance systems for (a) Sunday liturgies and (b) other services.
  2. Follow this LINK   to sign up to register your interest in attending SUNDAY liturgy;
  3. Follow this LINK  to sign up to register your interest in attending ALL OTHER services;
  4. You will be asked to enter the names and contact information of everyone in your household interested in attending;
  5. Review the Parishioner Agreement language; each adult should check the box indicating agreement; a parent can check the box on behalf of a child;
  6. If you are unable to sign-up online, or if you know a parishioner who would like to sign-up but does not have access to the internet, a parishioner may call the church office at 847-729-2235 to be placed on the Attendance List. You will be sent a copy of the Parishioner Agreement, which must be signed and returned to the church;
  7. Households will be selected at random;
  8. When selected for Sunday services, you will receive an email invitation for the next week’s liturgy;
  9. You will be asked to confirm or decline your attendance;
  10. Those invited will be placed at the bottom of the list for the next service, and those not selected will go to the top of the list;
  11. You need only sign-up once. Your information will be on file and we will rotate invitations;
  12. If you sign up but would then like to be removed, please call or email the office;
  13. Please stay home if you are not invited by the attendance process; walk-in attendance is not permitted.


C. Entering the church

  1. If there is a line outside to enter, please maintain social distancing; there will be cones or other markings to indicate where you should stand;
  2. At all times, everyone over 2 years old must be wearing a face covering over their mouth and nose;
  3. At all times, you must maintain at least 6 feet distance from everyone not in your family;
  4. Upon entering, an usher will take your temperature by a non-contact method. If your temperature is too high in the discretion of the Parish medical advisors, you will not be allowed to enter, for the safety of others. Currently the threshold is 100.1 degrees (99.1 as shown on the thermometer, to which a degree is added for accuracy) but it is subject to change at any time;
  5. You will then be directed to venerate icons and light a candle, if desired.


D. Venerating icons

  1. Per Metropolis instructions, icons should be venerated without making physical contact; please do not kiss or touch the icons;
  2. The Gospel will not be placed in the Narthex to be venerated at this time.


E. Lighting a candle

  1. Candles will be already placed upright, unlit, in the sand. You may take a candle and light it;
  2. After lighting a candle, please sanitize your hands with the nearby hand-sanitizer station;
  3. You may donate online before coming to church through the Virtual Candlestand on the church website. You may also leave a cash donation at church but no change will be available.


F. Taking your seats

  1. An usher will take your name and direct you to your seating area;
  2. The pews and any accessible areas will have been cleaned and sanitized prior to your arrival;
  3. The pews will not have Holy Bibles or service books, but you may bring your own;
  4. Seating areas will be roped off, marked, and spaced for appropriate social distancing; please observe these boundaries;
  5. Children must remain with a parent in the pews except when receiving communion.


G. Receiving Communion

  1. Wait for an usher to direct you to receive communion, and maintain social distancing;
  2. Sanitize your hands at the station provided before receiving Holy Communion;
  3. The clergy will be wearing masks during communion of the faithful;
  4. The clergy will offer Holy Communion according to our normal practices;
  5. Remove your mask just prior to receiving Holy Communion and replace it afterward;
  6. Do not touch or wipe your mouth on the communion cloth;
  7. Do not touch the communion cloth with your hands;
  8. Sanitize your hands after receiving Communion using the sanitizer stations;
  9. The andithoron bread will not be available following communion;
  10. Return to your assigned area after communion via the closest aisle.


H. Exiting the church following the service

  1. You will be directed by an usher to exit from either the north or the south door, whichever is nearest;
  2. The andithoron bread will not be distributed or available;
  3. There will not be an exit line to the clergy for individual blessings;
  4. Please do not gather in groups within the church.


I. There will be limited building access

  1. The main level bathroom will be open;
  2. The stairs and lower bathrooms will be open;
  3. Please wash your hands for 20 seconds after using the bathroom;
  4. The coat area, playroom, bookstore, water fountain, Fellowship Hall, and Community Center are NOT open at this time.

Thank you for your cooperation in reviewing these Policies and Procedures.

–The COVID-19 Parish Safety Team